top of page

Vincent Traughber Meis


Writer of Novels and Short Stories

CTWY Cover 4.jpg
DICCover Horiz.jpg

Critical acclaim of my novels


Meis has delivered a divinely tender, yet profoundly unsettling portrait of a young Midwestern voyeur on his journey to becoming queer in New Orleans. Unapologetically, it compels the reader to reoccupy that discomfiting space of the adolescent trespasser forced to pry at private worlds he cannot yet experience.

Robert Fieseler,

Author of Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation

The power of the story is due to the power of the prose. Meis tells a story that pulls us in and holds us.

In DELUGE, Meis gives us tender characters trying to find-amidst hatred and tragedy-the ever present flood of love that engulfs us all, if we let it.  

Donnelle McGee, Author of Ghost Man

DOWN IN CUBA is a gripping, thought-provoking, emotionally satisfying book. The characters are strong and fresh. The writing is immediate and unadorned, yet it creates a subtle, mercurial, even elusive, Cuba.


THE MAYOR OF OAK STREET deftly merges events from our American history and ties them with our contemporary moment.

David Jackson Ambrose, Author of A Blind Eye

Amos Lassen Reviews



Vincent Traughber Meis grew up in Decatur, Illinois and graduated from Tulane University in New Orleans. He has also traveled extensively, and as result of his travels and time abroad he published a number of pieces, mostly travel articles, but also a few poems and book reviews, in publications such as, The Advocate, LA Weekly, In Style, and Our World in the 1980s and 90s. He has published five novels with Fallen Bros Press: Eddie’s Desert Rose (2011), Tio Jorge (2012), and Down in Cuba (2013), Deluge (2016) and Four Calling Burds (2019).

Tio Jorge received a Rainbow Award in the category of Bisexual Fiction in 2012.Down in Cuba received two Rainbow Awards in 2013. Deluge won a Rainbow Award in 2016. His sixth novel The Mayor of Oak Street was released in 2021 with NineStar Press and a book of his short stories in 2021. Three more novels have been published with Spectrum Books, First Born Sons (2023), Colton's Terrible Wonderful year (2023) and The Long Journey to You (2024). His stories have been published in several collections, including WITH: New Gay Fiction, and other collections. He lives in San Leandro, California and Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

In The Press
News and Events
No events at the moment


Sign up to be the first to know about new novels, events and much more!

Thanks for submitting!

Get in Touch

Thanks for submitting!

Follow me:

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page